Girl Power: Video Game Heroines I Love

I don’t always pick women characters when I play, but I will admit that seeing strong female characters in games, especially playable ones, does make me feel empowered and represented. And over the years, I’ve come to have a couple of favorites.

First off, from one of the more recent games I’ve played, is Max Caulfield from the five-episode graphic adventure game “Life is Strange.” Perhaps I love Max mostly because she’s a mostly relatable character – I don’t have the power to rewind time (yet), and because she’s a smart, creative, mature, and kind person and players can see her grow from being very self-conscious to more confident during the game.max_plays_guitar-wordpress-i

Image source: wikia.com

And there’s Samus Aran from the “Metroid” series. Admittedly, it was a big surprise when I realized Samus was a girl just like me because up to that point in my life, I was only exposed to women being saved as opposed to being the heroes of the game. Thanks to her Power Suit, Samus has enhanced strength, but she was also endowed with superhuman agility and has a strong sense of justice that makes her the perfect hero.

And then while I do realize that most people who played the epic “Final Fantasy VII” game were attached to Aerith, and I do love her, I mostly gravitated to Tifa Lockhart. For some reason, playable girl characters were typically relegated to healer or mystic roles before then but then there was Tifa, who used her fists to beat up monsters and villains. Her independence, loyalty, and bravery were inspiring to me, as were her awesome boots.

wordpress-ii

Image source: gamefaqs.com

Other favorites of mine are the ultra-cool free-running protagonist of “Mirror’s Edge,” Faith Connor, Crash Bandicoot’s adorable, tiger-riding sister, Coco Bandicoot, and Nana, the pink-clad mountain climber from the retro game, “Ice Climber” because she’s an equal to her companion, and she has a huge mallet that she’s not afraid to use.

Hey there! I’m Diana Wylde a computer science student who’s familiar with spending hours upon hours playing video games. Check out my Google+ account to find out what I’ve been playing recently, as well as updates on my other interests.

Leave a Reply

